Summertime & the Livin’s Easy

I’ll admit, I thought summer school would be a total drag-given the whirlwind year I just had, I was expecting just the same schedule of back-to-back library sessions from May to August.  Fortunately, I couldn’t have been more wrong!  Of course, we still have classes, homework, and exams scattered throughout the summer months, but the schedule is much more livable and allows for us to have a little bit of fun in the sun.

Summer classes at SRU are split into two halves.  We just finished the first half of our classes and start the second half this week.  The exception to this is Modalities, Pharmacotherapy, and Nutrition which run for the full summer term.  The first five weeks of summer classes included Evidence Based Practice I (to be continued this fall and spring), Diagnostic Imaging, Nutrition, Pharmacotherapy, and Modalities.

EBP was actually really interesting to me; research has never ever been my strong suit, so I learned a lot on how to find specific research articles, interpret them, and then apply the results to clinical practice.  Being an evidence based PT is vital to daily practice because without it, we would have nothing reliable to base out treatment plan upon.  Imaging was an exciting class because we got to see real radiographs and how diagnoses are inferred from them.  Nutrition has been a good refresher from courses I took in undergrad.  In Modalities we are learning all of the physical agents PT’s use to aid in treatment.  So far we’ve done hot and cold agents, Ultrasound, traction and compression, and diathermy.  It’s fun being able to practice with my fellow colleagues and learn for ourselves which modalities we would choose for each specific diagnosis.  Pharmacotherapy has been opening my mind to some new ideas and forms of practice.  Along with learning about different drugs combined with PT treatment, we’ve been participating in discussions regarding the various uses of pharmacologic agents in the PT setting.  Our most recent discussion was about PT’s as prescribers and cited an article on PT’s in the military.

It got me thinking about potentially working for the military when I become a PT.  As many of you know, I am a very proud military sister.  As many of you also know, I’m not really the roughest toughest chick in the world and most likely would not easily survive any type of combative military training.  So you’re probably thinking to yourself, “Liz, in the military???”.  I know, same here.  BUT I am currently doing some research on the logistics of it all to see exactly what the position entails.  It would be so awesome to help take care of the men and women who devote their lives to keeping our country safe.  I think it would also give me some peace of mind knowing that I would be caring for people like Gary (I worry about him and his peers more often than I should).  If any of you reading this know a little bit more about the process of becoming a military PT, feel free to send me a message; any insight would be greatly appreciated!

025976d0-356d-0133-0a03-0e76e5725d9d

Me @ myself when the thought of being a military PT first popped into my head

P.S: this in no way means I’ve given up on being a pediatric PT!!  I’ve got plans to get more experience in that field too 🙂

Today starts day one of a few new classes for the last month of summer session.  We’ll be starting an environmental considerations for PT’s course, as well as psychosocial integration.  Environmental is all about ergonomics and different environments for patients and therapists; it sounds like it’s going to be a really interesting course!  Psychosocial should be fun too-I’ve always found psychology to be fascinating.

In my down time, I’ve been hitting the Ivy pool quite often; we’re so lucky Amanda lives there and lets us hang out so much!  A huge group of us spent this past weekend in Pittsburgh to celebrate Mariah and Karly’s birthdays.  We spent Saturday afternoon pedaling through the city on the Pittsburgh Party Pedaler and it was easily the most fun thing we’ve ever done-highly recommended!

img_0665.jpg

The whole group before pedaling!

This Friday I head to Long Beach Island, NJ to visit my besties from college!  I can hardly wait-I haven’t seen most of these girls since senior week a whole year ago!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ll keep y’all updated on the second half of summer classes, what I find out about Military PT, and my first Clinical rotation coming up next month!

 

Keep on Dreaming,

Liz

Leave a Reply

