The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

No, it’s not time for Christmas carols yet.  It’s back to school season, and the only thing better than a fresh pack of Ticonderogas and a pretty new planner is a brand-spanking-new stethoscope.

PT School Ready!

Slippery Rock sent all of the incoming first-year students a list of supplies we will need for the program in our orientation packet.  This list includes:

  • Stethoscope
  • Sphygmomanometer (try to say that ten times fast)
  • 8″ and 12″ Goniometers
  • Vinyl retractable tape measure
  • Penlight
  • Taylor Percussion Hammer
  • A zippered bag to hold everything

So, in true Liz fashion, I scoured the internet in pursuit of the cutest PT supplies I could find.  Cue Jaanuu: a pop-up on Facebook led me to this site that has adorably functional scrubs, lab coats, and medical bags.  I ordered the Medical Clutch in snakeskin; I had a 25% off coupon so this bag came to only about $25!

Shown with the detachable gold strap, this bag can be a clutch or can be carried as a cross-body bag

The next item on my list was a stethoscope.  From some research I had done online, I found that a truly good quality scope should cost no less than $60.  The most reputable brand is Littmann, and they have many colors and models to choose from.  Of course, I needed mine to be hot pink and found that the Classic II S.E in raspberry suited my needs and budget perfectly.

I placed an order on Student Medical Shop that also included the rest of the items on my list, at great prices.  In total, I spent about $150 on all of my required PT supplies.  My package arrived this weekend, and as soon as I opened the box I made sure to give everyone in my family complimentary blood pressure checks because, priorities.

Keep On Dreaming,

Liz

Leave a Reply

