Living The Dream

A few weeks ago, I received all of the long-awaited orientation packet for Slippery Rock’s DPT program!  The packet included a hand-written not from my very own second-year student “big” (much like I had in my sorority days in undergrad!), a welcome letter from the program staff, a list of all the first and second-year students, a class schedule, an orientation itinerary, and order forms for uniform lab attire and textbooks.

I was most excited for the list of my fellow peers, so that I could get to know some of the students and potentially find a roommate.  In my search, I discovered that one of my classmates is also a Penn Stater and I had interestingly enough met her at an information session for Chatham’s DPT program.  I sent her a message on Facebook and it turns out she was looking for a roommate too!

The apartment we are living in is extremely cheap and very close to campus, which is why Missy (my new roomie) chose it in the first place.  The downside is that it is a renovated dorm building, so it isn’t the nicest place in the world.  It comes with minimal furnishings and appliances.  The plus side is that I already have furniture from my house back at Penn State, which will make the place much more homey and “Graduate Student” like instead of a dorm.  When we move in mid-August I’ll share some before and after pics and an update of how they are in person.

Another interesting piece of this packet was the dress code for classes.  For lectures, we are expected to come dressed in business casual attire (no more sorority shirts and leggings everyday!).  For labs, which are typically one day per week, we are expected to wear only approved SRU DPT attire.  There is a selection of tee shirts, sweatshirts and pants, collared shirts, and gym shorts.  In addition to the approved clothing, we are allowed to wear black, grey, or green sweatpants or shorts, as long as they are mid-thigh length or longer.  I’ve never been required to wear a uniform to school before, so this is something new for me!

This week I’m working on researching and applying for loans-yikes!

 

Keep On Dreaming,

Liz

 

Leave a Reply

